Progress Report -or- Playing Catch-Up

Hi out there! 🙂

So I’m going to assume there’s more than one person reading this, just so that I can use “y’all” without hesitation. 😀  Do y’all ever get so behind with things that you just feel like you’re never, ever going to catch up?  I find myself in this place frequently.  Part of the issue, for me, is that I frequently have things I want to get done, but sometimes I seriously lack motivation.  On occasion, it’s a lack of energy to boot.  As I’m not a habitual drinker of coffee, soda, or tea, I don’t typically infuse myself with caffeine to get over these little motivational hurdles, and therefore I usually just have to plod through those dry spells, crawling toward the light at the end of an ever-lengthening tunnel.

Man, that started out kind of depressing.  That’s really not where I was going with this.  So let’s digress:  I started this blog a few months ago with the intention of chronicling my yarn art journey and sharing what I’ve been learning in the years prior to the creation of December Butterfly.  I tell ya, you just don’t realize how busy you are until you try to carve out time to make a blog post once every two weeks and continuously fail!  Two posts a month ought to be the easiest thing in the world to do.  Consistency and routine are super important to me, so why can’t I get the hang of this? :-p  Well, I’m trying anyway.  Maybe one of these days it will become ingrained in my routine and I’ll finally gain some traction.

In the meantime, here’s where I am:

I finally opened my Etsy shop.  That was going to be a big, unto-itself, announcement-type post.  Perhaps it still will be.  But you’ll read it here first.  There’s a little square over there to the right that will take you directly to my shop if you’re interested.  Personally, I’m still in the scared-to-death phase.  Until I actually make a sale and ship it off and things go perfectly, I’m still going to be terrified whenever I get notified that someone favorited something.  I have gained so much respect for artists who sell their work over the past couple of years.

Still don’t have an actual logo yet.  A friend who is good at Photoshop is trying to help me figure out what I want.  Apparently I have no idea. haha  But I want to get something figured out soon because I want as unified a look as possible.  I want to get some business cards printed up and some labels to use with mailing my products.

In the meantime, dealing with the loss of Emmy has taken a larger toll than either Joey or I expected.  We’ve both been on a bit of a rollercoaster of emotion, as well as motivation.  There have been very few times in life where I felt so sad that all I wanted to do was sit and cry.  It’s been weird these past couple of weeks to find myself in situations where I couldn’t think or function well at work because all I could think about was Emmy.  I think we’re both coming out of the rut, but it’s a slow climb.

I’m behind on my temperature blanket, but there will be an update about that soon.  I don’t like being so far behind, but like I said, it’s been a rough few weeks.  I think I’ve got roughly 10 days/rows to catch up to the end of March.  And to be honest, the temperature blanket is starting to prevent me from working on anything else, which was completely unexpected.

And then there’s the blog here.  I’ve got a lot of ideas for things I want to share, but gosh, it takes me forever to find the time to actually type up the stuff and share it.  I don’t want this to sound like a big whine-fest.  I’m not trying to complain!  Really!  I just kind of feel like there’s this unspoken expectation I’ve put on myself and I am continually falling short of that.  So because of that, I have some questions I want to ask of y’all:

First, if you’re reading, would you kindly say hello? 🙂  I know how needy that probably sounds.  Like all those posts on Facebook where people are afraid that no one is seeing what they share (I know it’s a real thing.  My page has fallen victim to that, so I get ya).  But no, really what I’m after is to know that I’m not just talking to myself here, and to request some real feedback.  I’d like to know if there are any particular aspects of my blog so far that you enjoy, and if there are areas where you’d like to see improvement?

I’m still in the process of trying to find my “voice” when it comes to blogging.  I think ultimately I’m still going to be sharing what I enjoy sharing, but I definitely value your input!  I’ve got some things in the works – I visited two yarn shops last month that I’m planning to write about, that temperature blanket update is coming, and I’ve got a few more ideas in my head for the “Lessons” series, as well as a more detailed “ribbon cutting” post for my shop.  But as readers, does it feel like I’m trying to do too much at once?  Is my consistency (or lack thereof) distracting and disjunct?  Or are you enjoying things exactly the way they’re going?  I would appreciate any polite, constructive feedback.  Thanks for sticking with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

