FTF – Event: Triangle Yarn Crawl Pt.2

This post is a continuation of my spring 2016 Triangle Yarn Crawl experience that began in this previous post.

Stop #3:  Yarns Etc… – Chapel Hill, NC

20160416_103001.jpg

Yarns Etc… is one of the few shops I’d been to before the yarn crawl, and was surprisingly empty at around 10:30AM when we arrived.  It’s a nice space and well-laid out.  I walked around and went back to several yarns while there.  I’ve bought some fun Filatura Di Crosa Fancy Cristallo from them in the past that I fell in love with.  No photos just yet of the finished projects, though, because they’re hats and I’m still debating on whether or not they need pompoms.

20160416_103450.jpg
The table in the center had marked down yarns!

I may not have mentioned yet that I’m a bit of an introvert and am plagued by social anxiety.  As such, I unfortunately didn’t think to ask names of anyone I encountered during the yarn crawl.  I feel pretty guilty about that, but at the same time, pretty proud of myself for being able to get through a day filled with strange places and people I’d never met.  The point I’m getting to, though, is that the lady who was working at Yarns Etc… on Saturday (whose name I didn’t get) was super nice and even had free patterns available for crawlers. 🙂

20160416_103048.jpg

I suppose now is as good a time as any to mention that one of the items on the Instagram photo scavenger hunt was a sheep or alpaca.  You’ll see some symbolic version of sheep or other wooly animals throughout, since most shops had multiple of them.  This was the first shop on our crawl (that I noticed) that had samples of needle-felted projects.  And while I didn’t take a lot of photos of all the impressive work, I felt it necessary that this felted dragon get some face time:

img_20160416_110426.jpg

Yarns Etc… has a sister store in Raleigh – Great Yarns, which was also part of the crawl.  We’ll get to them, but the reason I bring it up now is because these sister stores also have loyalty cards and they are good at either store!  When filled, you can turn in your card for $25 in store credit.

Stop #4:  Cozy – Durham, NC

20160416_111546.jpg

I’ve been down 9th Street many a time.  My little town of Timberlake is just north of Durham, and in fact, I used to work in Durham.  At one time, I could say I was more familiar with Durham than I was with Roxboro (the county seat 12 miles north of Timberlake).  There’s a fantastic fair trade store, One World Market, just up the road from Cozy, and we used to come to their next door neighbor, Barnes Supply Co., for dog food and supplies before a pet store opened in Roxboro.  When I found out that Cozy sold yarn and yarn art supplies, I wanted to check it out, but the opportunity never presented itself until now. 🙂

Cozy is a cute little place, and they carry more than just yarn-related products.  They also have clothing, shoes, jewelry, gifts, and accessories.  While their selection is kind of small compared to the other shops that are exclusively yarn art-related, Cozy knows how to pick ’em when it comes to yarn!  There were plenty of pretties to choose from, and nearly as many impressive sample projects to check out.  Here are a couple of hanks that Jess adopted:

20160416_112937.jpg

We managed to leave Cozy a few minutes ahead of schedule, and decided to run over to Chick-fil-A to grab lunch before making the trek to Raleigh.

Stop #5:  Admit Ewe Knit – Raleigh, NC

img_20160416_130522.jpg

Another first-time visit, and again impressed. 🙂  Tucked away in a corner shop, slightly hidden from view by a leafing maple, Admit Ewe Knit was a little easier to get to than I thought it would be from highway 70.  This shop also had a spacious and practical layout, several sample projects, and many helpful ladies who tempted us greatly with their yarn sale.

20160416_124441.jpg

20160416_124445.jpg

20160416_124451.jpg

We still had 3 more shops to hit, and we had fallen a bit behind schedule, so we didn’t get to spend a lot of time here either, unfortunately.  We’ll have to make another trip out that way and be there a little longer next time.  In my next post, I’ll finish off the crawl with the final three shops.

2 thoughts on “FTF – Event: Triangle Yarn Crawl Pt.2

Leave a Reply

