Fluffy Chain Scarf – or – Crochet Patterns Needed!

I’ve long been an admirer of thick-and-thin yarn.  It’s so visually interesting, and combines that visual interest with the fluffy texture I love that makes it squishy and soft. I’ve been following Spun Sugar Yarns for quite some time now as well, just waiting for the day that I could snatch up one of her beauties!

It finally happened and I was super excited!  My package arrived with the yarn inside, wrapped in tissue paper and tied in a strand of pretty brown and sparkly string, accompanied by a yummy piece of Werther’s hard candy.  The fluffy puff was rich with pink, purple, and orange, twisted together with sparkly goodness. 🙂

13902657_10207825850137926_9193170433420938391_n
Photo courtesy of Spun Sugar Yarns, used with permission.

I couldn’t wait to get started on…  wait.  What can you crochet with thick-and-thin yarn?

Once again my eyes were bigger than my… um… pattern library?  There are plenty of knitting patterns out there for t-n-t yarn, but I had to search high and low for a crochet pattern.  I eventually did find a cowl pattern that I attempted, unsuccessfully.  And I thought to myself, “Self, we’ve been crocheting for like 4 years now.  We know how to make scarves.  Let’s try one freehand.”  Self and I discovered it’s not always as easy as that.  And that t-n-t yarn isn’t exactly well-suited to frogging. :-/

I love color.  Y’all know this about me.  The color changes in my new fluffy yarn are somewhat short, and I felt like no matter what I did, the true star of this show – the gorgeous color combo – wasn’t going to be able to truly shine in the scarf patterns I was using.  I had one last chance to get this right, and I had a specific type of pattern idea in the back of my mind.  I hoped, wished, and prayed hard that the third time would be the charm.

5

The pattern is Chain Loop Circle Scarf by Ashley McCann, which I have to say looks pretty awesome when you’re using straight up bulky yarn.  Being a string of chain stitches, I thought this was probably the best way to make the most of the colors.  I’d never made a scarf like this.  It was simple enough, but with the thick-and-thin I wondered if it would look okay?

1

The star of this show, the gorgeous thick-and-thin yarn, is a blend of Superfine Merino and Firestar, one-of-a-kind, hand spun, and hand dyed by Spun Sugar Yarns.  As promised, it was next-to-skin soft, and the sparkly Firestar strands were just perfect.  Just sparse enough to be subtle, but shiny enough to add something extra special!  It’s hard to truly capture the effect in photos, but the one just above this paragraph does the best job of all of our pictures at allowing you a glimpse at the sparks.  Find Spun Sugar Yarns on Etsy, Facebook, Facebook Groups, and Ravelry.

3

One of the things I love most about Ravelry is that when you’re looking at a pattern, you can browse the projects tab and see what everyone else has done using that pattern.  I use this feature only ALL the time.  I love seeing what other people have come up with, but I also love seeing if anyone has used the yarn I’m planning to use, or something similar.  I like to know that it’s going to work out, ya know?  Yarn is a valuable resource that I have no intention of wasting. 😉

4

I don’t know if it’s everyone’s cup of tea, but I have to say I really like how it turned out. 🙂  It’s fluffy, it’s sparkly, it’s SO warm!  I love how the colors are represented, and I even kind of like the visual texture of the way the t-n-t yarn makes uneven chain stitches.

6

Rather than chain each chain individually and then cut and weave the way the pattern says, I decided to make one long chain and then connect it at the end.  It was a bear to get the loops all about the same length, but with a little help from my sister, I finally got it even enough to my satisfaction, and then I took the tail and wrapped around without cutting.  The only cutting I did was at the end when I’d weaved the tail into the “handle.”

2

I feel like this works well for autumn and spring.  It’s a bit too warm for summer, and maybe a bit too “pink” for winter.  But the warmth of both the material and colors are great for the cooler seasons of the year.  It reminds me of flowers in spring, and changing leaf colors in autumn.  I’m so glad that I finally found something to show off this yarn.  I wish more crochet pattern designers would find a way to make use of fun t-n-t yarn!

FO Impressions

  • Pattern: 4/5 – It’s hard to go wrong with this pattern.  Nearly every project linked to it on Ravelry turned out fantastic!  The only reason I don’t give it a 5/5 is because I feel like, with a little patience, it’s more worthwhile to just chain continuously rather than cutting and rejoining repeatedly.  It’s a bit fussy either way.  If you cut, you take more time and waste more yarn than just chaining.  But if you just chain, it might be a little frustrating trying to get the loops even, but you maximize your yarn usage.
  • Yarn: 5/5 – Absolutely gorgeous!  It is exactly as it was described, and even through two times frogging, I had virtually no issues using it.  I would caution you to know what you’re doing with this type of yarn.  Keep frogging to a minimum to best preserve the beauty of the yarn, and if you want to try crocheting with it, use a large hook (I used a 12mm) and simple pattern to show off the color and texture.  I can’t speak to knitting, because as y’all know, I’m only just learning to knit, so I wasn’t quite ready to move to t-n-t yarn in my knitting progress.
  • Pattern/Yarn Combo: 5/5 – As crochet patterns and t-n-t yarn go, I can’t imagine a better combination.
  • Blocking: Unnecessary.
  • Time: Quick – I didn’t time it, but I’m sure it didn’t take me more than a couple of hours, including getting the loops even.

This project on Ravelry.

Leave a Reply

