Here we go…

So it’s a new year, and that means something.  What it means for me is that I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and mental planning.  Crochet and yarn arts will continue to be a big focus for me in the coming year, but I’ve made some decisions about other areas of my life:

I’m decluttering.  Everything.  I went into this a little in my previous post, but I’m cutting back on including things that I don’t love in my life.  I’m going to keep this principle in mind whenever I shop, whenever people ask me if I want something, and whenever I inevitably start purging the crap from my house.  I’m going to stop agreeing to things out of obligation rather than because I love the idea.  I’m going to stop giving little bits of myself to a million different places, and rather start giving larger bits of myself to a select few places.  I’m refining my focus and my energy expenditure.

Why am I talking about this?  What does this have to do with yarn art or December Butterfly?  Well, I’m tired of beating myself up over self-imposed failures.  For example, I make goals for myself, and I often don’t reach those goals, and then I agonize over the failure.  I’m done with that.  This year, part of the elimination of clutter includes emotional clutter.  I’m going to be giving myself some grace this year.  That includes this blog.  My original goal was to post every two weeks on a schedule, and if you’ve followed for any length of time, you’ve probably noticed how that hasn’t really happened consistently.  It was stressing me out.  A lot.

So here’s the deal – I enjoy writing, but I do NOT enjoy production-based environments or strict schedules.  I can’t thrive in those conditions.  I enjoy writing for the fun of it.  I enjoy sharing my experiences.  I enjoy documenting things so I can look back on them later.  So I’m refocusing.  My goal with blogging was to share my yarn art journey.  Well that journey is personal and it doesn’t occur on any kind of schedule.  Therefore, my posts in the future are no longer going to conform to a set schedule.  Successful social media people will say that’s a mistake, and that if I want any significant readership or following, I should post consistently.  I’m sorry, but that’s just not me.  And I can’t be what isn’t me… it hasn’t worked in the past, and I’m not going to let it stress me out in the future.

I WILL continue to share my journey, as it happens and as I am able, because I really don’t see how this would be fun for either of us if I did anything else.  I hope you’ll stick around for the unpredictable posting schedule, and for the natural progression of things.  I do have lots of ideas for future posts and things I want to share, so I have no intention of quitting now.  Plus there’s still so much to learn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

