FTF – Event: Carolina Fiber Fest 2017

I’ve heard of Carolina Fiber Fest before, but never attended until this year.  In the past, I always thought that it was more for spinners, with just a lot of roving and such.  I have an interest in spinning, but since I’m just starting to really settle into crochet, and I’m already learning to knit in addition, I thought I might want to, you know, actually make some progress with knitting – or whittle down some of my yarn stash, perhaps – before committing to yet another fiber art hobby.  I’m sure my budget and my husband (aka the Budget Master) would thank me for that.  Besides, I have this uncanny ability to find out about events when I have no time to plan and prepare to attend, so in the past I’ve not been able to even go and see what all the fuss is about.

But this year I was ready!  Possibly due to hearing about it too-late-to-go last year and following their Facebook page to keep up with the next years.  And as it turns out, Carolina Fiber Fest is for yarnies too! 😀

I’ve made mention (somewhere… either here or maybe on my Facebook page… I think…) that I have a goal of purchasing from a handful of independent yarn stores/sellers this year.  One that’s been at the top of my list for a while now is HauteKnit Yarn.  I fell in love with their Unicorn Pencils colorway, and started saving up to buy some of my very own. 🙂  I learned that they would have a booth at Carolina Fiber Fest this year, and so after having just come home from a trip to the mountains, I called up my sister and we made plans to go the following weekend.

20170325_090151
I expected a little more in the way of signage, but since I knew where it was going to be, I guess it wasn’t such a big deal.

The building looked small, once inside.  Smaller than it seems during the State Fair anyways (this building houses the art competitions during the NC State Fair).  But there were a lot of vendors, demonstrations, and even classes going on during this event.  Even though I was only there for one thing, really, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to look around. 🙂

20170325_091902               20170325_094526

Some of the first pretties to catch my eye.  I LOVE gradients, and this sparkly purple beauty by Ewephoric Fibers on the left is now a part of my stash, thanks to my generous enabling sister. 😉  The snazzy skein on the right is from Ellyn Cooper’s Yarn Sonnets, and is definitely going on my wish list!

20170325_093134

Another beauty found in the booth of Iria Yarn Company.  I’m just drooling and imagining all the fun projects this could become!

Also while at the Ewephoric Fibers booth, we got to talking about drop spindle spinning, which is what I’ve been taking an interest in as a first step to learning to spin.  They also told us a little bit about supported spindle spinning for lighter weighted yarn, which was completely new to me.

20170325_092213               20170325_092236

But doesn’t it just look cool???  They had some nice drop spindle kits for a great price that included a beautiful hand-painted drop spindle, a good amount of fiber of your choice to start with, and some time with one of the ladies who would show you how to get started.  I wanted to SO badly, but I only brought a little money with me (I know, stupid, right?) and it was reserved for a special yarn…

20170325_102328

We spent so much time ooh-ing and ahh-ing at the gorgeous strings in this booth, y’all.  I could have spent ALL. THE. MONEY. in there.  Seriously.  And yes, I did find my soul-mates, the coveted Unicorn Pencils.  There were 4 hanks, and I wish I’d saved up more so that I could have brought them ALL home with me, but alas…

20170325_172647

Only two, but dude…

7627aab3b42cac8b205bb627a6521eae

LOTS of great companies we encountered that day, and not nearly enough time nor space to tell you about all of them.  But I will give you a list of the ones for which I picked up business cards, and I don’t pick up business cards unless I am really interested in what they offer.  So I’m doing the legwork for you and linking websites and/or Facebook pages as I am able to find them.  These were the highlights of our visit to Carolina Fiber Fest 2017:

Angora Online

Apple Hill Farm

Avillion Farm

Claudia Hand Painted Yarns

Cozy Color Works

Ellyn Cooper’s Yarn Sonnets

Ewephoric Fibers

HauteKnit Yarn

Healing Hearts Alpacas

Iria Yarn Company

Knits4Comfort

The Clay Sheep

Twist Fiber Studio

Unplanned Peacock Studio

Leave a Reply

